If you or a loved one have fallen victim to a car accident and want to hold the at-fault driver accountable for their actions, know that there are laws specific to the state of Texas that can affect how you go about making your claim.
- The statute of limitations set for a victim to file a claim over injuries suffered in a car accident is two (2) years from the date of the event. Since the investigation of a crash can take some time, victims should seek out legal aid as soon as possible following the accident.
- Even if you were partially at fault in the accident, you may still be eligible to pursue compensation. Texas abides by the “modified comparative fault” rule. This rule allows a plaintiff to recover damages reduced by the percentage of which they held fault. For example, if the accumulation of damages in your unique case totals $100,000, and you were found to be 10 percent at fault in the accident, then the amount you are eligible to recover is limited to $90,000. It is important to note that individuals who are more than 50 percent at fault for their own accident will not qualify to pursue compensation from another involved party.
- If a person is injured or killed in a crash, or if a vehicle is totaled beyond repair, the Texas Transportation Code section 550.026 states that drivers must report such accidents to the authorities immediately.
If you or someone you love has been hurt in a car accident, Ryan can help. Contact the Law Office of Ryan C. Solis, PLLC, at (956) 686-9600 for your free legal consultation today.